Slain Newtown Educators Honored For Their Bravery

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Four of the nation’s most decorated military members – each a Medal of Honor recipient –  were in Newtown Monday to honor the six educators killed Dec. 14 at the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School: behavioral therapist Rachel D’Avino, principal Dawn Hochsprung, teacher Anne Marie Murphy, teacher Lauren Rousseau, school psychologist Mary Sherlach and teacher Victoria Soto

“She attempted to protect a young student from the gunman when he entered her classroom,” Jack Jacobs, one of the Medal of Honor recipients on hand, said of Murphy.

“Not combat trained they were elementary educators, but their overwhelming thoughts and actions were to protect their children, regardless of the risks,” said Newtown School Superintendent Janet Robinson.

“ They paid the ultimate price and in doing so these amazing individuals taught us, a grateful nation, the definition of bravery and selflessness,” said medal recepient Tom Kelley.

The society also recognized the surviving Sandy Hook teachers and staff members.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s