Boxes of Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios recalled for wheat contamination

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
General Mills cereal brands

LODI, Calif.–General Mills is voluntarily recalling several boxes of Cheerios because they may not state on the box that there is wheat in the product.

The boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios were produced at the Lodi, California facility in July. There was an isolated incident in which wheat flour was accidentally used in the gluten-free oat flour system, so some products may incorrectly be labeled as gluten-free.

The recall impacts people with gluten allergies, celiac disease or other intolerances to wheat.

The recall is for four days of production for original yellow Cheerios boxes, and 13 days of production for Honey Nut Cheerios boxes. In all, 1.8 million boxes were included in the recall.

The recall impacts products with the following “better if used by” date codes:

Cheerios:

  • 14JUL2016LD
  • 15JUL2016LD
  • 16JUL2016LD
  • 17JUL2016LD

Honey Nut Cheerios:

  • 12JUL2016LD
  • 13JUL2016LD
  • 14JUL2016LD
  • 15JUL2016LD
  • 16JUL2016LD
  • 17JUL2016LD
  • 18JUL2016LD
  • 20JUL2016LD
  • 21JUL2016LD
  • 22JUL2016LD
  • 23JUL2016LD
  • 24JUL2016LD
  • 25JUL2016LD

If you have any questions you can call General Mills’ customer service at  1-800-775-8370.