Connecticut communities to receive more Superstorm Sandy aid

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HARTFORD — More than $7 million in federally funded grants is being awarded to a host of Connecticut cities and towns affected by Superstorm Sandy in 2012.

The funding is part of a $71.8 million allotment to the state from a U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development program aimed at improving infrastructure and planning for critical upgrades to withstand future storms.

This marks one of the final disbursements.

The communities set to receive grant funding include Fairfield, Milford, Stonington, West Haven, Old Saybrook, New Haven, Westport, New London and Waterford. Several state and regional programs are also being awarded grants.

The Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is receiving $1.2 million to develop tools for municipalities affected by Superstorm Sandy to assess the vulnerability of their infrastructure.