Van der Zande, Popow win at Lime Rock Park

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The #7 Straworks Motorsports ORECA FLM09 driven by Alex Popov, Martin Feuntes, Issac Tutumiu, Kyle Marcelli and Pierre Kaffer races during practice for the ROLEX 24 at Daytona International Speedway on January 24, 2014 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

LAKEVILLE —Renger van der Zande and Alex Popow raced to their IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship victory of the season Saturday in the Northeast Grand Prix at Lime Rock Park.

Both drivers led in the No. 8 Starworks Motorsport ORECA FLM09 in the 2-hour, 40-minute race.

Popow avoided major damage when another Prototype Challenge car made contact with the rear of his car on an aborted start and took the lead after the first round of pit stops 30 minutes into the race.

Van der Zande took over just past the hour mark and benefited from pit work that vaulted him from sixth to the lead on his final stop with 1 hour, 4 minutes left. He beat Tom Kimber-Smith in the No. 52 PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA by 0.815 seconds on the 1.474-mile circuit.

Popow and van der Zande also won the Prototype Challenge class at Belle Isle and Watkins Glen. They extended their point lead to 17 over Kimber-Smith and Robert Alon.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.