Check for parking bans, delays, and closings here

State Senate leaders reach deal on managing split chamber

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HARTFORD — Republican and Democratic leaders of the incoming Connecticut state Senate say they’ve reached an agreement on how to manage the chamber, which will have 18 Democrats and 18 Republicans.

The chamber’s leaders said Thursday there also will be an equal number of Democratic and Republicans senators on legislative committees, and each committee will be led by a Democratic and Republican Senate co-chair.

New Haven Sen. Martin Looney, a Democrat, will remain the Senate President Pro Tempore but share duties with Republican Sen. Len Fasano, the Senate Republican President Pro Tempore.

Norwalk Sen. Bob Duff, a Democrat, will remain the Senate Majority Leader while Canton Republican Sen. Kevin Witkos will serve as Deputy Senate Republican President Pro Tempore.

The Senate will be equally divided for the first time since 1893.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.