AMBER ALERT – Share to help find missing 1-year-old
What’s on your Winter #CTBucketList?

Hartford Mayor Luke Bronin claims victory, winning 2nd term

HARTFORD -- Incumbent Mayor Luke Bronin has reclaimed his seat in the Capitol City Tuesday night.

Bronin faced off against J. Stan McCauley – a Democrat who was appearing on the Republican line because he was crossed endorsed by the GOP.

There were also four petitioning candidates on the ballot: Aaron Lewis, Giselle Jacobs, Michael Downes and former Hartford Mayor Eddie Perez.

Perez was hoping to return to the top post in Hartford after a corruption scandal ended his career in 2010.

Perez resigned from the mayoral position after serving the city since 2001.  His original convictions were overturned and he pleaded guilty in 2017 to take a bribe and attempted larceny by extortion.

In September, Bronin won the Hartford Democratic Mayoral Primary, defeating both Perez and State Rep. Brandon McGee.

Bronin was first elected mayor of Hartford in 2015.

This came after Democratic Mayor Pedro Segarra lost the party's nomination.  Segarra served Hartford for five years.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.